Stewart Cowley Distinguished Member Award

The Distinguished Member Award is presented to an NCSFA member who exemplifies exceptional leadership skills in fleet management among their peers. It was named after NCSFA member, Stewart Cowley from the State of Utah in 2021.  

Who is Eligible

Nominees must be NCSFA members in good standing.


Nominees must have made significant and sustained contributions to NCSFA and furthered the organization's mission, and must also have added to the quality of state and university fleet management.


Nominations close August 18, 2023. To nominate a member, please download and complete the nomination form (first button below), then use the second button to submit the nomination form to NCSFA Headquarters. If you would like to nominate a peer, but do not have sufficient information on their accomplishments to complete a submission, please contact the NCSFA staff for assistance.

Download and Complete the Nomination Form
Submit the Completed Nomination Form

Past Recipients

2022 - Kathleen Wellik, Iowa State University

2021 - Stewart Cowley, State of Utah (posthumous)

2019 - Sam Evans III, Georgia Tech University

2018 - Tara Merrifield, New Hampshire

2017 - Cindy Dixon, State of Missouri

2016 - Barb Bonansinga, State of Illinois 

2015 - Denise Baumgart, WEX

2014 - Chris Hoffman, Oklahoma State University

2013 - Kathi Croze, CEI

2012 - Scott Madsen, State of Colorado

2009 - Steve Saltzgiver, State of Georgia

2008 - Paul Lauria, Mercury Associates

2007 - Glenn Moss, Allison Transmission

2006 - Jim Ramsey, Oklahoma State University